What Division 1 colleges are in California?


What Division 1 colleges are in California?

Perfect School Search


According to the NCAA, the following 24 schools meet the requirements to be named as Division I:

  • University of California
  • UC Davis
  • UC Irvine
  • UCLA
  • California Polytechnic State University
  • UC Riverside
  • UC Santa Barbara
  • Cal State Bakersfield
  • Cal State Fresno
  • Cal State Fullerton
  • Cal State Long Beach
  • Cal State Northridge
  • Cal State Sacramento
  • Loyola Marymount University
  • University of the Pacific
  • Pepperdine University
  • Saint Mary's College of California
  • University of San Diego
  • San Diego State University
  • University of San Francisco
  • San Jose State University
  • Santa Clara University
  • University of Southern California
  • Stanford University

California boasts the highest number of D1 schools, in front of New York (22), Texas (21), and North Carolina (18). Schools are designated as D1 based on their student population, athletic budgets, and amount of scholarships issued by the school. There are more than 350 schools in the US which carry the D1 designation.

For more information about colleges in California, check out this article:List Of California Universities and Colleges

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.