What are the different types of architecture degrees?


What are the different types of architecture degrees?

Perfect School Search


There are three main types of architecture degrees: Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch.), Master of Architecture (M.Arch.) and Doctor of Architecture (D.Arch). To become architects, aspirants need to get at least a B.Arch. degree. Getting a bachelor's degree in architecture generally takes five years, which is one year more than most bachelor's programs. These bachelor programs include both typical classroom classes and fieldwork. This allows students to acquire the necessary knowledge for this occupation and put it into practice in a real work environment. After getting a B.Arch. degree, architects can undergo an Architectural Experience Program (AXP), which is a mandatory requirement to earn a license in most states of the U.S. They also need to sit for the Architect Registration Examination. Even though a B.Arch degree is enough to start working in this field, getting an M.Arch or a D.Arch will provide you better job opportunities and higher salaries.

For more information about architects, check out this article: Architect: Educational Requirements for Architects

Next: View Schools

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.