Anesthesiologist Training Programs and Requirements

Oct 20, 2021

Essential Information

Anesthesiologists must undergo extensive formal training, devoting four years to a baccalaureate degree, four years to medical school and four years to a residency program. Only a small number of schools offer a master's degree in anesthesiology. During residency, students study anesthesia theory and complete internships in areas such as critical care, cardiology and emergency medicine.

Anesthesiologists need to be self-motivated and able to withstand long working hours. They also need managerial skills, since most anesthesiologists supervise certified nurse anesthesiologists and anesthesiology assistants. Additionally, since they work closely with other physicians and surgeons about treatment options, anesthesiologists must possess strong communication skills.

Master of Science in Anesthesiology

A master's degree program in anesthesiology teaches potential anesthesiologists how to administer a variety of anesthetics in surgical and non-surgical circumstances. Students study courses in physiology, pharmacology, pulmonary mechanics and electrocardiography. Clinical practicum units take place during the entire program, with many occurring at nearby hospitals and medical centers. Typical topics in the curriculum may include:

  • Anatomy
  • Physiology
  • Pharmacology
  • Patient monitoring
  • Professionalism in anesthesiology

Doctor of Medicine

Students spend a majority of their first two years of medical school in laboratories and classrooms completing a multitude of science-based courses. For the third and fourth years, students work at hospitals or clinics practicing patient care. Near the end of the fourth year, students interview for residency positions at hospitals, where they choose a field of specialty, such as anesthesiology. Coursework generally covered during the first half of the program include:

  • Cell biology
  • Tissue biology
  • Gross anatomy
  • Pharmacology
  • Microbiology

Continuing Education Information

The American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) issues certification in anesthesiology and anesthesiology sub-specialties. Applicants must possess a medical degree to qualify for the written and oral examination. Recertification must be completed every ten years.

The American Osteopathic Board of Anesthesiology (AOA) has 18 separate medical specialty certifications including anesthesiology. Applicants must pass a written and oral examination and be observed administering anesthesia in an operating room. In addition to the exam, applicants must maintain a minimum 120 hours of continuing medical education credits within a 3-year period. The AOA requires recertification every ten years.

The ABA and other professional organizations offer conferences and workshops year-round for anesthesiologists. Some conferences last 3-5 days and allow individuals to learn about the effectiveness of specific types of catheters, how to improve postoperative patient care and pharmacology. At anesthesiology workshops, candidates spend several days learning about the different types of anesthesia, including pediatric, obstetrical, bariatric and regional.

Anesthesiologists have to complete medical school and a residency program in order to work in the anesthesiology field. Upon completion of all of education, students must obtain board certification.

Next: View Schools
Created with Sketch. Link to this page

Popular Schools

The listings below may include sponsored content but are popular choices among our users.

Find your perfect school

What is your highest level of education?